Meet GLXSGXW

Meet GLXSGXW

How old are and where are you from?

Hey there, my name is GLXSGXW, I am 20 years old and I’m from a rural town in Germany.

Have your surroundings shaped you in a creative sense and in what way?

I took a lot of influence from my surroundings as you might be able to tell my name is connected to the city Glasgow in Scotland, which represents a bigger part of myself and a time in my life that has shaped me to who I am now.

What was your favorite cartoon show growing up?

Uhm that’s a hard one, I guess I watched a lot of cartoons growing up like any kid would at this day and age. If I had to pick a favorite I’d say it was One Piece, I remember getting up an hour earlier every school day and racing to the tv just to catch the episodes they would play at that time.

When did you get into making music?

I got into music at the end of 2015, the beginning of 2016. That’s also when my mental state started declining.

How have things changed since you first started up to now?

Since I’ve started to now I have learned so much, not only in terms of music production and mixing but also how to market myself and my art. I think a lot of upcoming artists underestimate that part of a musical career. I’m not ashamed of trying to live off of my art and neither should anybody else who loves making music and sees it as their passion. Also what I learned is persistence, I had 3 other aliases under which I made music, each one of them failed miserably until I came up with GLXSGXW and I gotta say I’m pretty happy with this one so far so I don’t think I will change it or stop anytime soon.

What’s your favorite song at the moment?

I listen to a lot of my own music just so I have a good idea of what I am musically. A favorite song I got right now was made by a fellow friend of mine, Shiki Xo, it’s called “I’m my own imaginary friend.”

What keeps you going? How you doing mentally?

I’m going to be honest, mentally, I am in a really dark place and it gets worse every day, even though I am really thankful for all the support and love I get. But I can’t help but feeling like I am lacking something. I hope that I find that soon. Revenge against people that hurt me in the past and a competitive spirit keep me going.

How would you describe your style?

My style takes a little bit of nothing,nowhere and mix that with Guardin and Joji. At least that’s what I’m tryna do. In a more general sense, I try to incorporate elements of pop, hip-hop, alternative, and lofi music into my songs. I want people to feel intimate with my art that’s why I try to make it relatable while still putting truth as the upper priority.

What does your family think about you doing music?

My family generally supports what I do, that is mostly my film studies though since I don’t want them to know about my intimate feelings that I express through my music.

Outside of music, what keeps you busy?

Like I said I’m a film student, I am currently doing my bachelor of arts in film. A film I worked on won the Switzer film festival last year and I’m tryna make more movies and tell stories. So I guess that keeps me busy.

What are 3 things you can’t live without?

I can’t live without Subway, my guitar, and my phone. Mostly subway though, I go there like every day.

Where do you see yourself this time next year?

I hope that I can live in LA and make a living off of music by next year.

What is the most important thing you want listeners to take from your music?

The most important thing I want people to take from my music is a certain happiness. There is comfort to be found in knowing that other people go through the same hardships as you. Shared pain is less pain.

Keep Up With GLXSGXW:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/spiroizda

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/_glxsgxw_/

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/glxsgxw

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: